Database-Know-How

All installation and configuration problems and questions

Moderators: gerski, enjay, williamconley, Op3r, Staydog, gardo, mflorell, MJCoate, mcargile, Kumba, Michael_N

Database-Know-How

Postby majkel436 » Wed Aug 23, 2023 8:26 am

Hello, I'm new here.
I work as a Data Analyst in a call center that uses vicidial. Vici was shipped and is maintained by an external IT company. To create automated reports (after some persuasion) they gave me credentials to connect directly to MySQL database. However, they don't want to share information about what is what in tables, and how did it get there. I don't blame them, me having this knowledge is less money for them. I have figured out many things by myself, but some are still a mystery to me. To better understand how this database works I would like to learn what happens step-by-step when a call is made and how the records are created.
Could you please point me where can I find this kind of knowledge? Is it manager's manual or something else? Maybe I should look for it in completely different place?
majkel436

Re: Database-Know-How

Postby carpenox » Wed Aug 23, 2023 2:01 pm

Well you could use "show fields in table table-name" to learn what's in it and yes there's a manual, a few version you can get on vicidial.com as well as a paid version
Alma Linux 9.3 | SVN Version: 3822 | DB Schema Version: 1711 | Asterisk 18.18.1
www.dialer.one -:- 1-833-DIALER-1 -:- https://linktr.ee/CyburDial -:- WhatsApp: +19549477572 -:- Skype: live:carpenox_3 | Discord: https://discord.gg/DVktk6smbh
carpenox

Re: Database-Know-How

Postby martinch » Wed Aug 23, 2023 3:36 pm

Welcome to ViCiDial and welcome to the boards! Yeah...the user manual should have it in, I think as Chris has said. However, if you want a brief overview of the schema tables I'll do my best to describe them what I know. PS forgive me it's not an exhaustive list as I am a little tired after typing a lot :) I will complete it tomorrow.

Code: Select all